PineTales makes a well-reviewed buckwheat pillow and sells it with no way to send it back. Their return policy says all sales are final, and once a pillow ships they do not take it back. For a pillow you cannot judge until you have slept on it for a few weeks, that is the whole decision. If you want hulls you can try properly, ours come with a 60-night trial.
- PineTales accepts no returns at all; their return policy says “All sales are final”.
- Their production left the United States in 2023; depending on the model, their pillows are now made in China, Thailand, Vietnam, Turkey or Bulgaria, in their own words.
- Air-jet polishing breaks buckwheat hulls into flatter single-sided pieces, up to 68 percent quieter than roasted pyramid hulls, and most brands do not say which they use.
What decides whether a hull pillow works for you
Three things decide whether a buckwheat pillow works for you, and none of them are on the label.
How loud it is. Buckwheat hulls are the seed casings left after the grain is milled. Raw, they are rough three-sided pyramids with points, and points catching on points is the rustle people complain about. Some makers roast them, which darkens them and does nothing to the shape. Air-jet polishing knocks the points off and leaves flatter, single-sided pieces, which is what drops the noise by up to 68 percent. A pillow's page rarely says which of these happened to its hulls. Ask.
How much is in it. Hull pillows ship full, and full is almost never the height you want. The ones that work have a proper zipper so you can take hulls out until your ear sits over your shoulder and your neck stays in line with your spine. The ones that do not work are sewn shut or overfilled with a token opening. A pillow that arrives too high still feels like a pillow while your neck quietly bends all night, which is why most people stop adjusting far too early.
Whether you can get more later. Hulls settle and break down over three to five years. If the maker sells refills by the pound, the pillow lasts as long as the cover does. If they only sell a small bag meant for a travel pillow, the pillow has an end date.
What 20 buckwheat brands charge, and what you can work out from it
We read the published pages of 20 buckwheat pillow brands between February and May 2026, ours included. Every one prints a price. 20 of the 20 publish enough to work out what you are paying per pound of material. The rest print a number with nothing behind it.
| Brand | Price as listed | Cost per night | Dollars per pound | How we checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Circadian Buckwheat | $149 | $0.041 | $18.63 | Ours. Graded on our own published pages. |
| Hullo Buckwheat | $129 | $0.035 | $13.23 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Rawganique Illinois | $93 | $0.025 | $11.62 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Turmerry Buckwheat | $69 | $0.019 | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| ComfyComfy ComfySleep | $110 | $0.030 | $13.75 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Sachi Organics Buckwheat | Not listed (checked 2026-09-26) | n/a | n/a | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Bean Products WheatDreamz | $85 | $0.023 | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Comfort Pure Cotton+Buckwheat | $94 | $0.026 | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| PineTales Signature | $179 | $0.049 | $14.32 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Beans72 Buckwheat | $80 | $0.022 | $8.89 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Mother Earth Pillows Large | $53 | $0.015 | $7.31 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Soaring Heart Buckwheat | $115 | $0.032 | $11.50 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Sweet Zzz Buckwheat | $97 | $0.027 | $10.78 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| USlixury Organic | Not verified | n/a | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| APOBUY Tartary | $42 | $0.012 | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Sleppyco Buckwheat | $33 (as listed) | $0.009 | $4.13 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| ZEN CHI Organic | $60 | $0.016 | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Bucky Organic Cotton Bed Pillow | $72 | $0.020 | $14.40 | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Earthsake Bucky Sleep | $120 | $0.033 | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| LOFE Organic | $49 | $0.014 | n/a (weight not disclosed) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
How we checked. A desk study. Every cell is the brand's own published wording, read on its own product page between February and May 2026, with no figure inferred and nothing taken from a review site or a marketplace listing. Where a brand publishes no figure the cell reads not published, and that counts as a finding, because a buyer reading that page cannot know it either. Our own row is graded by the same rule as every other. Prices and policies move, so the price columns are the capture-window figures and not a live quote. The disclosure counts are what this study is about and they move far more slowly. Cost per night divides the published price by a fixed lifespan applied equally to every brand, so the column compares brands rather than predicting your pillow.
How PineTales answers those three
PineTales is a family-owned brand in Scottsdale, Arizona, founded in 2017. They call themselves "The Buckwheat Pillow Experts", they carry thousands of customer reviews, and they publish more about buckwheat than almost anyone. That volume is real and it is why you found them.
On the three questions above, read from their own pages in September 2026:
Noise. They say their hulls are screened, washed, heat treated and UV treated. They do not publish where the hulls are grown. They say the padded outer cover softens the rustle, and they argue that heavily polished hulls can lose grip.
Adjustment. Good marks. YKK zippers on the inner case and the outer cover, and the pillow ships at about six to seven inches, which is high, so most people will be taking a lot out.
Refills. One size only, a 1.5 pound bag. Their refill page describes 5, 10 and 20 pound amounts, but the bag it sells is 1.5 pounds.
Two more facts that are on their site and easy to miss. Their knowledge center says production moved outside the United States in 2023, and that the pillows are now made in China, Thailand, Vietnam, Turkey or Bulgaria depending on the model. And the Platinum cover has a bamboo-rayon side and a Cool-Touch side over a woven cotton core, with no organic claim on the fabric.
The thing nobody tells you about "organic" hulls
PineTales calls its hulls 100 percent organic and publishes no certifier and no license number for them. That is not unusual and it is worth understanding rather than being outraged about.
Hulls are an agricultural by-product. Certifying them is possible and rare, and a certificate on the hulls tells you almost nothing about the pillow, because the thing against your face all night is the cover. Here is the trick worth learning in this category. Most brands certify the outer fabric, or one component, and then describe the finished pillow as organic. PineTales argues the point openly on their product page, saying "organic" does not tell you how much a pillow will rustle or how well it will hold its shape. They are right about that.
Our own answer is to say exactly which of our pillows are certified and which are not. Our buckwheat pillow has an undyed organic cotton cover and USA-grown hulls that we describe in full and do not call organic, because we will not borrow a certificate for them. On the cotton and wool pillows, where the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) covers the material inside as well as the cover, we name the license, GOTS-10229, and will send the certificate to anyone who asks.
How the two compare
| What matters | Circadian Buckwheat Pillow | PineTales Platinum Edition |
|---|---|---|
| Hulls | USA-grown, air-jet polished and UV sterilized, cleaned with air and light | Organic claimed, no certifier named; origin not published |
| Noise | Polishing leaves flat, single-sided pieces, up to 68% quieter than roasted pyramid hulls | Padded outer cover said to soften the rustle |
| Cover | Undyed organic cotton | Bamboo-rayon side and Cool-Touch side; no organic claim on the fabric |
| Adjustable | Side zipper | Yes, YKK on both cases |
| Refills | Sold from 5 pounds up | One 1.5 pound bag |
| Sleep trial | 60 nights, slept on | None. All sales final |
| Made | Filled and sewn by hand in New Jersey | Outside the US since 2023: China, Thailand, Vietnam, Turkey or Bulgaria, by model |
Cervical support
Buckwheat Pillow
USA-grown hulls, air-jet polished so they sit flatter and run quieter, and a zip so you set the height yourself.
Shop the Buckwheat PillowHandmade in New Jersey · 60-night sleep trial
Prices change too often to print here. Each brand's own page carries the current one.
Who should buy which
Already know hulls suit you? PineTales has the widest catalog in buckwheat, and its review count is earned. Ours still gives you more: hulls polished up to 68 percent quieter, refills sold from 5 pounds up, and a pillow sewn by hand in New Jersey.
Buy ours if this is your first hull pillow. You get sixty nights to find out. PineTales does not accept returns.
Hulls are firm and they have a feel of their own, which is why the trial matters more than any row in the table above.
What to do on night one
Open the zipper before you sleep on it. Take out more than feels right, lie down on your usual side, and have someone look at you from behind: your ear should sit over your shoulder with your head tipped neither up toward the ceiling nor down toward the mattress. On your back you need much less. Sleep three nights at that height before you change it again, and give the pillow a few weeks before you decide whether it is yours.
Questions people ask
Does PineTales accept returns?
PineTales does not accept returns. Their return policy says “All sales are final” and that once a pillow ships they do not take it back to sell to someone else. Manufacturing defects are covered for two months. Circadian gives 60 nights, slept on.
Where are PineTales pillows made?
PineTales says in its knowledge centre that production moved outside the United States in 2023 and that, depending on the model, its pillows are now made in China, Thailand, Vietnam, Turkey or Bulgaria. Circadian pillows are filled and sewn by hand in New Jersey.
Are PineTales buckwheat hulls organic?
PineTales calls its hulls 100 percent organic and publishes no certifier and no license number for them. Circadian does not call its hulls organic at all; they are USA-grown, air-jet polished and UV sterilized, inside an undyed organic cotton cover.
Why are some buckwheat pillows louder than others?
Raw buckwheat hulls are three-sided pyramids with points, and points catching on points is the rustle. Air-jet polishing breaks them into flatter single-sided pieces, which makes the pillow up to 68 percent quieter than roasted pyramid hulls.
Free shipping. Sixty nights, slept on.
See the Buckwheat Pillow