Sachi Organics is the business most like ours in the whole category: a family workshop hand-making natural pillows, zips on everything, material sold by weight so a pillow can be topped up years later. Two things decide it. They name no certifier anywhere on their site, and they give thirty days on unused items only, with you paying the postage.
- Sachi names no certifier, no standard and no license anywhere on its site.
- Handmade buys you two concrete things: a real zip, and material sold by weight so the pillow can be refilled.
- Sachi gives 30 days on unused items only, with the customer paying postage.
What handmade buys you in a pillow
Handmade is the most-used and least-examined word in natural bedding, so it is worth saying plainly what it buys you.
It buys you a pillow that can be opened. A workshop sewing to order can put a real zip down the side and fill to a stated weight. A factory line optimises for sealing things shut. This is why almost every adjustable natural pillow comes from a small maker.
It buys you repairability. If the maker sells material by the pound, the pillow lasts as long as the cover, because you can top it up when the contents settle. Buckwheat hulls flatten over three to five years. Cotton and wool compress slowly. A pillow you can refill is a pillow you keep.
Handmade is why the zip opens and why a refill goes back in. Every pillow is cut, filled and sewn by hand in a New Jersey workshop, which is also why we can build a size nobody stocks. And on our organic cotton and organic wool pillows, GOTS, the Global Organic Textile Standard, certifies the material inside and the cover, so the handwork sits inside a record somebody else keeps.
Where 20 buckwheat brands say their material comes from
We read the published pages of 20 buckwheat pillow brands between February and May 2026, ours included, and recorded two separate things: where the material was grown, and where the pillow was put together. 12 of the 20 say the pillow is made in the United States, and 4 publish nothing about where the material itself comes from. Those are different claims and a page can carry one without the other.
| Brand | Material origin as published | Made where | Casing | How we checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Circadian Buckwheat | USA-grown | Yes (NJ) | Organic cotton | Ours. Graded on our own published pages. |
| Hullo Buckwheat | USA-grown (MT/ND) | Yes (Duluth MN) | Organic cotton twill | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Rawganique Illinois | USA-grown organic | Yes (USA) | Organic cotton twill | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Turmerry Buckwheat | USA-grown claim | Yes (claim) | Organic cotton | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| ComfyComfy ComfySleep | USA-grown | Stated inconsistently (USA and Canada) | Organic cotton twill (TX Dept of Ag) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Sachi Organics Buckwheat | USA-grown organic (state not stated) | Yes (Albuquerque NM) | Organic cotton (TX co-op) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Bean Products WheatDreamz | USA organic | Yes (Chicago IL) | Organic cotton shell | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Comfort Pure Cotton+Buckwheat | Not stated | Yes (San Francisco CA) | Organic cotton | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| PineTales Signature | Undisclosed | No (made outside the US since 2023) | Cotton twill core, Egyptian cotton cover | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Beans72 Buckwheat | Not stated (USDA Organic hulls) | Yes | Unbleached cotton | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Mother Earth Pillows Large | Not stated | Yes (USA; based in Arnold MO) | 100% cotton twill | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Soaring Heart Buckwheat | Not stated | Handmade (city not stated) | Not stated (organic case sold separately) | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Sweet Zzz Buckwheat | Not stated | Designed USA; made imported | Organic cotton case + cotton inner cover | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| USlixury Organic | Undisclosed | Not stated (Amazon brand) | Organic cotton, unbleached | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| APOBUY Tartary | Not stated (high-altitude plateau claim) | Not stated (Amazon brand) | 100% organic cotton, dual-layer | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Sleppyco Buckwheat | USA (NY state) | Yes (handmade in the USA, per brand) | GOTS organic cotton twill | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| ZEN CHI Organic | Not stated | Not stated | 100% cotton | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Bucky Organic Cotton Bed Pillow | Not stated | Not stated | 100% organic cotton knit | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| Earthsake Bucky Sleep | Not stated | Not stated | Combed cotton jersey | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
| LOFE Organic | Tartary hulls; origin not stated | Not stated | Organic cotton | Published specs only, read on their own product page. |
How we checked. A desk study. Every cell is the brand's own published wording, read on its own product page between February and May 2026, with no figure inferred and nothing taken from a review site or a marketplace listing. Where a brand publishes no figure the cell reads not published, and that counts as a finding, because a buyer reading that page cannot know it either. Our own row is graded by the same rule as every other. Prices and policies move, so the price columns are the capture-window figures and not a live quote. The disclosure counts are what this study is about and they move far more slowly.
What Sachi makes and what it leaves unsaid
A family business in Albuquerque, started in 1981 as Bright Future Futon Company and now run by the second generation. They hand-make pillows, futons, mattresses, wool toppers and meditation cushions. Two of their own shops, Albuquerque from 1981 and Santa Fe from 2007, plus 18 partner retailers in the United States and Canada.
Their range overlaps ours more than anyone else's: cotton, kapok, wool and buckwheat, every pillow zippered, material sold by the half pound.
They are good at exactly what we are good at, which is why this is the closest comparison on our site.
Two things to weigh.
No certifier is named anywhere. Their pillows are described as organic and natural, and the site names neither a standard nor a license nor an auditor. That does not mean the materials are not what they say. It means you are taking their word for it, and you should know that is what you are doing.
Thirty days, unused only, customer pays. For a pillow you have to sleep on to judge, "unused" is a narrow door.
What we name, and what we refuse to
On our organic cotton and organic wool pillows, the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) covers the material inside as well as the cover, under license GOTS-10229. That is the number. Ask us and we will send you the certificate.
On buckwheat, kapok, latex and the buckwool hybrid we make no such claim at all. Those have an organic cotton cover and we say only that. Our hulls are USA-grown, air-jet polished and UV sterilized, cleaned with air and light rather than a chemical wash. We describe them in full and we do not call them organic, because the certificate does not cover them.
That is the difference between us and Sachi in one paragraph: a named license, a certificate we will send you, and a plain statement of what it covers.
How the two compare
| What matters | Circadian | Sachi Organics |
|---|---|---|
| Made | By hand in a New Jersey workshop | By hand in Albuquerque since 1981 |
| Materials | Buckwheat, organic wool, kapok, organic cotton, latex, buckwool hybrid | Cotton, kapok, wool, buckwheat |
| Adjustable | All six, side zipper | Every pillow zippered |
| Refills | Sold by weight in every material | Sold by the half pound |
| Certification | GOTS over material and cover on cotton and wool, license GOTS-10229 | None named |
| Sleep trial | 60 nights, slept on | 30 days, unused only |
| Return shipping | We pay it | Customer pays |
| Shops | None | Two, plus 18 retailers |
Certified through and through
Organic Cotton Pillow
The Global Organic Textile Standard covers the cotton inside as well as the cover, under license GOTS-10229.
Shop the Organic Cotton PillowHandmade in New Jersey · 60-night sleep trial
This table carries no prices. They move, and a stale one is worse than none.
Who should buy which
Sachi's strength is the shop. If you are in New Mexico, you can walk in and feel the pillows, and they have been doing this since they started in 1981. What they cannot give you is a named certificate, or a trial you can sleep on.
Buy ours if you want the certificate named and sent, or if you want to sleep on the pillow for sixty nights before committing. On a pillow you cannot judge from a photograph, the returns policy is most of the product.
Getting a zippered pillow right
Both of these pillows open, which is rarer than it sounds and is most of what you are paying for. Use it on night one rather than after a bad week. And when the contents settle in a few years, buy material by weight and put it back rather than replacing the pillow. Both of us sell it that way, and it is the best argument either of us has against a supermarket pillow.
The feel of down
Wild-Harvested Kapok Pillow
Each fiber is a hollow tube, 80 to 90 percent air, which makes kapok the lightest natural fiber on earth.
Shop the Wild-Harvested Kapok PillowHandmade in New Jersey · 60-night sleep trial
Questions people ask
Is Sachi Organics certified?
Sachi names no certifier, no standard and no license anywhere on its site. Its pillows are described as organic and natural. That does not mean the materials are not what they say; it means you are taking the company's word for it.
What does handmade actually buy you in a pillow?
Two things. A real zip, because a workshop sewing to order can put one down the side where a factory line optimises for sealing things shut. And repairability, because a maker who sells material by the pound lets a pillow last as long as its cover.
Can you refill a pillow instead of replacing it?
Yes, if the maker sells the material by weight. Buckwheat hulls flatten over three to five years and cotton and wool compress slowly. Both Circadian and Sachi sell material by weight, which is the best argument either has against a supermarket pillow.
Sixty nights, slept on, with the return postage on us.
See the Organic Cotton Pillow