We bought the competition. Same size where the size exists, same questions asked of every brand: what does it cost, what is actually certified, can you adjust it, and how long do you get to decide. Read the rows and pick whichever one wins.
GOTS-10229, Oregon Tilth. The fill and the cover both.
How it was made
Scoured and oxygen-bleached only, never chlorine. The GOTS licence bars formaldehyde, PFAS, flame retardants and synthetic dyes at every stage.
What we do not claim
We do not call the thread organic. It is GOTS-approved cotton-wrapped polyester, which the standard permits and which we would rather name than round up.
Organic Textiles Cotton PillowManufactured USA
$55
Processing not detailed
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (extra fill SKU)
30 nightsAmazon return policyFree Prime
Certification, their words: PDP claims GOTS on fill + cover; GOTS scope certificate PDF linked on cert page; license # not in page text
Processing, their words: Processing not detailed
Sachi Organics Cotton Pillow IIAlbuquerque NM since 1981
$932 lbs · $46.50/lb
Unbleached cotton batting; no flame retardants; no chemicals added
No third-party certification
YesYes (extra fill bags)
30 days unusedCustomer paysStandard rates
Certification, their words: Organic cotton fill + cover; TOCMC fiber source; no third-party cert named on brand site (GOTS not explicit; USDA NOP not claimed by brand)
Processing, their words: Unbleached cotton batting; no flame retardants; no chemicals added
30 days unused only (opened pillows non-Customer pays + restockingNot free
Certification, their words: GOTS listed as product certification on PDP; Control Union CU823400; Finished-product scope + annual on-site audit
Processing, their words: Spiraled garnetting; unbleached; GOTS-compliant processing
Lifekind Spiraled Cotton PillowGreenwood Village CO
$189
Spiraled garnetting; unbleached
Licence number published
YesNot separately listed
30 days unused only (opened pillows non-Customer pays + restockingNot free
Certification, their words: Finished-product GOTS; spiral cotton fill + quilted cover both GOTS; license CU 823400 printed on the PDP itself
Processing, their words: Spiraled garnetting; unbleached
Oregon Natural Fiber Mill CottonOregon mill
$89
Garnetted onsite; chemical/pesticide free
No third-party certification
Yes (firmness options)Yes (bulk cotton sold)
StandardStandardNot free
Certification, their words: US-grown organic cotton fill + organic sateen shell (no third-party cert; no certifications page on site)
Processing, their words: Garnetted onsite; chemical/pesticide free
Magnolia Organics Cotton PillowUSA
$75
GOTS-implied processing; no chemical finish disclosure
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (1 lb refill)
30 days unusedCustomer paysThreshold-based
Certification, their words: Brand claims GOTS on fill + cover; About page scopes GOTS to spinning/weaving facilities (component/facility level); license # not published
Processing, their words: GOTS-implied processing; no chemical finish disclosure
Organic Lifestyle Cotton PillowUSA
$65
Cotton batting; layered; no chemical disclosure
Claimed, no number published
YesNot separately listed
30 nightsCustomer paysNot free
Certification, their words: USDA NOP organic cotton fill (TOCMC source) + USDA organic cotton cover; GOTS not mentioned sitewide
Processing, their words: Cotton batting; layered; no chemical disclosure
earthSake Organic Cotton PillowBerkeley CA
$115
Chemical-free; unbleached
Claimed, no number published
YesLimited
Case-by-caseLimitedNot free by default
Certification, their words: QAI/USDA NOP organic cotton fill; OTCO-certified batting; brand states it cannot GOTS-label a finished product (GOTS not explicit on this pillow)
Processing, their words: Chemical-free; unbleached
Rawganique SC Cotton PillowUSA
$1053.3 lbs (Medium) · $31.82/lb
99.9% biodegradable; no bleach; no chemical treatments; PFAS-free
No third-party certification
Optional ($8 upcharge)No standalone SKU
Non-returnableNo returns on pillowsStandard rates
Certification, their words: Organic cotton fibers certified; brand states its sewing workshop is not certified; no GOTS claim on this product
Processing, their words: 99.9% biodegradable; no bleach; no chemical treatments; PFAS-free
Sorting reorders the other pillows. Ours stays on the top row.
None of the other cotton pillows we bought meet that one.
Green means the brand's own published wording meets the test, amber means it is claimed but not evidenced, grey means it does not. Open any row to read the wording it was graded on. Certifications re-checked live on 31 July 2026. Prices and policies collected May 2026 from each brand's product page; certifications re-verified 31 July 2026. How we test and rank
GOTS-10229, Oregon Tilth. The fill and the cover both.
How it was made
Organic wool scoured to GOTS rules, lanolin retained, left undyed.
What we do not claim
We do not call it hypoallergenic, and we do not put a lanolin percentage on it, because no verifiable figure for our own fibre exists.
Woolroom Deluxe Washable WoolUK manufactured
$1401.3 lbs · $107.69/lb
Scoured; washable wool treatment; undyed
Licence number published
Yes (discrete zip)Yes (extra wool packs)
30 nightsFree returns within 30 daysFree over $50
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX 100 Annex 4 (cert #11-71668); Woolmark; Wool ID traceable British wool; Allergy UK; not GOTS on this SKU
Processing, their words: Scoured; washable wool treatment; undyed
Sleep & Beyond myWoollyManufactured overseas
$1292.5 lbs · $51.60/lb
Scoured; machine-washable wool treatment; undyed
Licence number published
YesYes (Woolly Puffs sold separately)
30 nights30 days unused onlyFree over $99
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX 100 (cert #15.HCN.66088) on cotton cover and wool fill; WOOLMARK on fill; not GOTS on this SKU
Processing, their words: Scoured; machine-washable wool treatment; undyed
Holy Lamb Woolly DownOakville WA
$952.06 lbs (33 oz) · $46.12/lb
Scoured with ~1% lanolin retained; never bleached or dyed
Licence number published
Yes (add/remove puffs)Yes (3- and 6-oz Puff bags)
30 days unusedFree returns (prepaid label)Free over $99
Certification, their words: Organic wool fill (GOTS not explicit on this SKU); cotton milled/finished in GOTS-certified facility; facility-scope GOTS only (OTCO GOTS-10205); not finished-product GOTS; OEKO-TEX 100 (21.HUS.88394)
Processing, their words: Scoured with ~1% lanolin retained; never bleached or dyed
Earthsake Woolley PureGrowHandmade USA
$1691.9-2.1 lbs (30-33 oz) · $84.50/lb
Minimally processed; not bleached/treated; lanolin partially retained
Claimed, no number published
Yes (easy to add or remove fill)Yes (half-pound Wool-Down Extra Pu
No trial period statedNot stated on PDPFree ground over $500
Certification, their words: Organic cotton certified at supplier stage only (QAI; SKAL; OTCO); brand states GOTS label not permitted on final product; American Humane on wool; not GOTS on finished pillow
Processing, their words: Minimally processed; not bleached/treated; lanolin partially retained
Savvy Rest Organic WoolEarlysville VA
$185
Scoured; undyed (per convention)
Licence number published
Yes (unzip and remove)No refill SKU on PDP
Non-returnable (PDP states no returns)No returnsFree over $99 (convention)
Certification, their words: Company + 3 production facilities GOTS certified (Control Union CB-GOTS-CU-PE-33-846965; SC CU846965GOTS-2026-00018940); pillows in scope appendix at Organic grade; GOTS not explicit in PDP text; GREENGUARD Gold
Processing, their words: Scoured; undyed (per convention)
PlushBeds Adjustable WoolAssembled CA
$159
Scoured; undyed
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (PlushBeds refills)
Non-returnableNoFree
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX + WOOLMARK per brand FAQ (cert # not published); not GOTS on this SKU
No (wool model not adjustable; adjNo (fill packs are for latex)
30 nightsFree returnsFree shipping
Certification, their words: Finished-product GOTS (brand states materials; factory and finished product all certified); Oregon Tilth OT-007086; GREENGUARD Gold; UL Formaldehyde-Free; MADE SAFE
Processing, their words: Scoured; undyed; organic-certified processing
Sleep & Beyond myMerinoManufactured overseas
$1241.5 lbs · $82.67/lb
Scoured; undyed; lanolin removed (GOTS-compliant)
Licence number published
No (batted)No
30 nights30 days unusedFree over $99
Certification, their words: GOTS on organic cotton + organic Merino (license GOTS-10180; US fulfillment center also GOTS certified); OEKO-TEX 100 (15.HCN.66088); WOOLMARK; license #s on cert page, not PDP
Processing, their words: Scoured; undyed; lanolin removed (GOTS-compliant)
Holy Lamb Organics Wool PillowOakville WA
$1291.8 lbs · $71.67/lb
Scoured; ~1% lanolin retained; no carbonization; no bleach; no sheep dipping; undyed
Licence number published
No (sewn-shut)No (replacement covers only)
30 days unusedFree returns (label provided)Free over $99
Certification, their words: GOTS on components (GOTS-certified wool batting + GOTS-certified cotton case); facility-scope GOTS (OTCO GOTS-10205; GOTS DB supplier #26226); finished-product GOTS not claimed; OEKO-TEX 100 (21.HUS.88394)
Processing, their words: Scoured; ~1% lanolin retained; no carbonization; no bleach; no sheep dipping; undyed
No (sewn batt; firmness chosen at Yes (custom orders)
Made-to-order (limited returns)LimitedCalculated at checkout
Certification, their words: EcoWool fill (proprietary; brand states suppliers opt out of organic certification); OEKO-TEX claimed at the mill (cert # not published); not GOTS on this SKU; no GOTS license # sitewide
Processing, their words: Minimally processed; undyed; lanolin-retained (EcoWool tier)
OMI Spiraled Wool PillowGreenwood Village CO
$104
Scoured; undyed; organic
Licence number published
Partial (spiraled)No
30 days unused only (opened non-returnabCustomer pays + restockingNot free
Certification, their words: Finished-product GOTS listed on PDP; Control Union CU823400 (CB-GOTS-CUC-03-823400); scope cert covers pillows at Organic grade to 2027-02-04
Processing, their words: Scoured; undyed; organic
OMI Carded Wool PillowGreenwood Village CO
$119
Sanitized; undyed; GOTS-compliant lanolin removal
Licence number published
No (batted)No
30-day unused only (opened non-returnablCustomer pays + restockingNot free
Certification, their words: Unverified for this SKU (carded pillow not on live site); brand-level GOTS Control Union CU823400 applies to OMI pillows that are listed
Processing, their words: Sanitized; undyed; GOTS-compliant lanolin removal
Surround Ewe ECO-Pure WoolOconomowoc WI
$114
Eco-Pure chemical-free; scoured; undyed
No third-party certification
Limited (sewn batt)Yes (custom orders)
No trial published30-day unusedFlat rate
Certification, their words: Organic cotton cover claim (certifier not named; license # not published); GOTS mark is site-footer only, not a product-level claim; ECO-Pure wool proprietary (no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Eco-Pure chemical-free; scoured; undyed
PlushBeds Natural Wool PillowCalifornia
$164
Scoured virgin wool; undyed
Licence number published
NoNo
Non-returnable (hygiene)NoFree contiguous US
Certification, their words: GOTS claimed in FAQ for wool sourcing only; no GOTS badge on SKU; brand-level GOTS-Cotton license CU1007386 (Control Union) scoped to cotton; not GOTS finished product
Processing, their words: Scoured virgin wool; undyed
Sleep365 Organic WoolAssembled USA
$145
Scoured; undyed; organic-compliant
Claimed, no number published
NoNo
30 nights30-day refund minus shippingFree over $99
Certification, their words: GOTS on wool fill (100% GOTS certified organic wool per PDP); GOTS badge on PDP (license # not published); no GOLS or MADE SAFE on this SKU
Processing, their words: Scoured; undyed; organic-compliant
Frankenmuth Wool PillowFrankenmuth MI mill since 1894
$1071.6 lbs · $66.88/lb
Scoured; undyed; virgin wool
Claimed, no number published
NoNo
30 nights30-day unused onlyFlat rate (not free)
Certification, their words: None published (no GOTS; no OEKO-TEX); Climate Beneficial wool (Fibershed program claim; not an organic cert)
Processing, their words: Scoured; undyed; virgin wool
Sömn Home Merino Wool PillowCanadian brand
$157
Scoured; layered batting; undyed
No third-party certification
No (layered)No
30 nights30-dayFree thresholds
Certification, their words: None published (no GOTS; no OEKO-TEX); 100% Merino, ethically sourced claim only (no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Scoured; layered batting; undyed
Naturalmat Organic Wool PillowDevon UK
$95
Scoured; undyed; traceable to farm
Claimed, no number published
NoNo
Made-to-orderCase-by-caseFree UK over £50
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX 100 on casing (cert # not published); wool from Soil Association certified organic farms; B Corp; not GOTS on this SKU
Processing, their words: Scoured; undyed; traceable to farm
Sorting reorders the other pillows. Ours stays on the top row.
None of the other wool pillows we bought meet that one.
Green means the brand's own published wording meets the test, amber means it is claimed but not evidenced, grey means it does not. Open any row to read the wording it was graded on. Certifications re-checked live on 31 July 2026. Prices and policies collected May 2026 from each brand's product page; certifications re-verified 31 July 2026. How we test and rank
How the Circadian Tree-Tapped Latex Pillow compares.
21 latex pillows, bought and slept on. Every cell below is that brand's own published wording.
Nights to decide60, slept on6 of the other 20 match it
RefillsAvailable to buy7 of the other 20 sell them. Refill yours
Circadian Tree-Tapped Latex Pillow compared with other latex pillows on verifiable certification, adjustability, refills, sleep trial and returns.
Pillow
Price
How it was made
What the certificate covers
Can you change it
Trial and returns
Circadian Tree-Tapped Latex PillowNew Jersey, handmade since 1981
$1694.25 lbs · $39.76/lb
Slow-pour Dunlop, poured slowly and evenly, then washed and cured. Tested at Class 1 against more than 100 harmful substances.
Cover certified, fill screened not certifiedOrganic cotton cover. The latex is screened against more than 100 harmful substances. FSC certified rubber-tree source.
Organic cotton cover. The latex is screened against more than 100 harmful substances. FSC certified rubber-tree source.
How it was made
Slow-pour Dunlop, poured slowly and evenly, then washed and cured. Tested at Class 1 against more than 100 harmful substances.
What we do not claim
We do not print a certificate number on this pillow. The screening covers the fill, not the finished pillow, and we will not imply a scope we do not hold. We also never call it organic latex.
Avocado Green Pillow (Dunlop+kapok)Tecate Mexico
$1393.4 lbs · $40.88/lb
Dunlop process (poured; gelled; baked)
Licence number published
YesYes (~$35-39 refill)
100 nightsFree returnsFree standard
Certification, their words: Finished-product GOTS (Control Union CU863637); GOLS on latex (CU863637); OEKO-TEX 100 Class I (24.HUS.86422) on the finished pillow; MADE SAFE; GREENGUARD Gold; UL Formaldehyde-Free
Processing, their words: Dunlop process (poured; gelled; baked)
Lifekind Cozzy Shredded Rubber (Dunlop)Greenwood Village CO
$159~3.4 lbs · $46.76/lb
Dunlop (rubber)
Licence number published
YesNot advertised
90 nightsExchange-basedFree
Certification, their words: GOLS on latex fill (license # not published); GOTS CU 823400 (Control Union); PDP states the finished product is certified; GREENGUARD Gold not claimed by the brand
Processing, their words: Dunlop (rubber)
OMI Embrace Shredded Latex (Dunlop)Greenwood Village CO
$169
Dunlop (natural rubber)
Licence number published
YesNot advertised
90 nightsExchange-basedFree
Certification, their words: GOTS listed in PDP cert block (Control Union CU823400; scope not stated); GOLS is a brand-level claim absent from the PDP (license # not published); GREENGUARD Gold scoped to mattresses
Processing, their words: Dunlop (natural rubber)
Sleep EZ Shredded Natural LatexAssembled USA (Phoenix AZ)
$99
Process not named on PDP; Sleep EZ FAQ: Natural line is 100% Dunlop
No third-party certification
Yes (zippered)Yes (extra fill sold)
90 nights90-day returns (customer pays reFree
Certification, their words: No certs on PDP; cert page lists supplier-level GOLS (Arpico/Eco/LSK), OEKO-TEX (Radium; Talalay Global) and eco-INSTITUT (Radium); GOTS scoped to the Organic mattress cover only; per-pillow cert IDs not published
Processing, their words: Process not named on PDP; Sleep EZ FAQ: Natural line is 100% Dunlop
Yes (extra fill bag included)Yes (fill ships with pillow)
30 nightsLimited (hygiene)Free
Certification, their words: GOTS on cotton (license GOTS-10233 / OT-007086, Oregon Tilth; appendix covers pillows); latex is GOLS or FSC by option (brand GOLS CU 864025 names only Luxury Latex Pillows); MADE SAFE; GREENGUARD Gold; cert IDs not on PDP
Processing, their words: Dunlop (inferred)
Savvy Rest Shredded (Dunlop+Talalay)Earlysville VA
$119
Dunlop + Talalay shred blend
Licence number published
Yes (double casing inner+outer)Yes (arrives full, remove to fit)
No trialNo (hygiene policy)Free over $99
Certification, their words: GOTS on casing only (Savvy Rest license CB-GOTS-CU-PE-33-846965, Control Union; no latex in the GOTS appendix); GOLS, Cradle to Cradle Gold and FSC on latex are supplier scope certs; GREENGUARD Gold (cert ID not published)
Processing, their words: Dunlop + Talalay shred blend
Dreamfoam Ultimate Dreams TalalayAssembled USA
$172
Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
No third-party certification
Yes (zippered)Not advertised
120 nightsFree returns within 120 nightsFree
Certification, their words: No certs on PDP; parent 3Z Brands claims corporate GOLS, eco-INSTITUT and CertiPUR-US, none tied to this pillow; no GOTS; no OEKO-TEX on brand site
Processing, their words: Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
FloBeds Twice Fluffed TalalayFort Bragg CA assembly
Yes (unzip and remove)Yes (extra Talalay fill on request
100 nightsGoldilocks Guarantee (free-returFree shipping not stated on PDP
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX 100 (Talalay Global slab; supplier-level); GOTS claimed brand-level for cotton ticking and wool, never on the pillow PDP (license # not published); cert page also calls the latex GOTS-compliant (latex is outside GOTS scope)
Processing, their words: Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen; shredded twice)
No trialNo returns (final sale)Free continental US
Certification, their words: Supplier/component certs only - OEKO-TEX 100 (Talalay Global; Radium; Aprico); eco-INSTITUT + Cradle to Cradle Gold (Radium slab); GOLS scope cert applies to Dunlop, not this Talalay pillow; no GOTS; no FSC
Processing, their words: Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
Certification, their words: Fill stated as 100% natural Talalay+Dunlop, not organic; GOLS not claimed for this pillow on the PDP (sitewide footer badge only); OEKO-TEX 100; eco-INSTITUT; LGA on latex; no cert IDs on PDP
Processing, their words: Dunlop + Talalay shred blend
Eco Terra Natural Latex (Dunlop+kapok)Southern California
$109
Dunlop process
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (extra fill bag included)
Non-returnableNoFree
Certification, their words: GOLS + eco-INSTITUT on Arpico latex (supplier scope certs); GOTS claimed for the cover in prose only - no GOTS certificate or license # published; kapok uncertified
Certification, their words: GOLS on latex (CU865931 in sitewide footer); GOTS published at company level only (Control Union CU1007386, cotton scope) - not tied to this cover on the PDP; no OEKO-TEX or GREENGUARD claim on this PDP
Processing, their words: Dunlop process
Birch Talalay Latex PillowAssembled USA
$110.66
Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
Claimed, no number published
Yes (zippered for shredded versionNo
30 nightsFree returns within 30Free
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX on TENCEL cover only; no GOLS; no GOTS anywhere on the brand site; latex described as natural, not organic
Processing, their words: Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
OrganicTextiles Shredded Latex (Dunlop)Handmade Southern CA
$90
Dunlop process
Claimed, no number published
YesNot advertised
30 nightsAmazon return policyFree Prime
Certification, their words: GOLS on latex (supplier cert ORG-001-23); company-level GOTS certificate published sitewide but not tied to this cover on the PDP; OEKO-TEX at company level; license # not in page text
Processing, their words: Dunlop process
Talatex Adjustable TalalayThailand
$80~2.4 lbs (1.1 kg) · $33.33/lb
Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
Claimed, no number published
Yes (zipper + NeckFit zone)Not advertised
30 nights30-day returnsFree
Certification, their words: No cert named in PDP text; brand page lists GOLS, OEKO-TEX 100, FSC, ISPA, eco-INSTITUT and LGA with no scope, product tie or license #s; GOLS unverified for this pillow
Processing, their words: Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
Varies by retailerRetailer-dependentRetailer-dependent
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX 100 stated for mattresses only (license # not published); no GOLS or GOTS claimed; eco-INSTITUT, Rainforest Alliance, FSC and Cradle to Cradle not claimed on brand site - unverified
Certification, their words: GOLS on latex appears in the page meta description only, not body copy; visible spec lists fill as shredded latex with no cert; no license or cert IDs on PDP
Processing, their words: Dunlop process
Latex For Less Shredded (Dunlop)USA
$75
Dunlop process
Claimed, no number published
YesNot advertised
No trialNo returns (5-year warranty)Free
Certification, their words: GOLS on shredded latex per PDP FAQ; GOTS cover claim appears on the brand blog only, not the PDP; no license or cert IDs published
Processing, their words: Dunlop process
Saatva Latex PillowAmerican Talalay
$1653.25 lbs · $50.77/lb
Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
No third-party certification
No (sealed core)No
45 nightsFree returns within 45 daysFree
Certification, their words: No certs stated on PDP; brand-level only - GOTS + OEKO-TEX 100 claimed for bedding generally (cert IDs not published); GREENGUARD Gold and eco-INSTITUT scoped to latex mattresses, not pillows
Processing, their words: Talalay (vacuum-expanded; flash-frozen)
Sorting reorders the other pillows. Ours stays on the top row.
None of the other latex pillows we bought meet that one.
Green means the brand's own published wording meets the test, amber means it is claimed but not evidenced, grey means it does not. Open any row to read the wording it was graded on. Certifications re-checked live on 31 July 2026. Prices and policies collected May 2026 from each brand's product page; certifications re-verified 31 July 2026. How we test and rank
Organic cotton cover. Kapok grows wild, outside the scope of any textile certification.
How it was made
Wild-harvested, picked clean by hand, spun without machines. Nothing bleached, nothing dyed.
What we do not claim
We do not call it organic. Nobody farms this fibre, so no organic standard reaches it, and the word would be doing work it has not earned.
Avocado Green Pillow (kapok+latex blend)Tecate Mexico
$1393.4 lbs · $40.88/lb
Cleaned; undyed cover; blended in-house
Licence number published
YesYes (~$35-39 refill)
100 nightsFreeFree contiguous US
Certification, their words: Finished-product GOTS (Control Union CU863637); brand also labels the kapok fill GOTS-certified (kapok is agricultural; outside GOTS scope); OEKO-TEX 100 Class I (24.HUS.86422); GREENGUARD Gold; MADE SAFE; eco-INSTITUT scoped to latex only
Processing, their words: Cleaned; undyed cover; blended in-house
Certification, their words: Savvy Rest GOTS scope cert (Control Union CB-GOTS-CU-PE-33-846965) lists pillows 33% organic cotton/67% organic kapok at Organic grade; GOTS not explicit in PDP text; GREENGUARD Gold
Processing, their words: “Intentionally overstuffed”; minimal processing disclosed
Organic Textiles 100% KapokHand-tufted CA
$50
Hand-tufted California
Licence number published
YesNo published refill
30 nightsFree AmazonFree Prime
Certification, their words: GOTS claimed at cover level; only GOTS document published is a supplier scope cert in Paramount Textile Mills' name (SC 23-467661; license 015205; expired 2023-11-11); no GOTS license in brand's own name; kapok outside GOTS scope
Processing, their words: Hand-tufted California
Bean Products Organic KapokChicago IL HQ
$119
Hand-filled (per brand convention); no bleach; no dye
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (organic kapok bags)
Policy not on PDPPolicy not on PDPThreshold/Prime
Certification, their words: Cover 100% organic cotton (GOTS not explicit on PDP; no license # or certifier anywhere on site); kapok wild-harvested (outside GOTS scope)
Processing, their words: Hand-filled (per brand convention); no bleach; no dye
Earthsake Adjustable KapokBerkeley CA
$95
Chemical-free; hand-assembled California
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (kapok fill sold)
Standard windowCustomer paysCalculated at checkout
Certification, their words: Cover organic cotton (GOTS not explicit; no license #); kapok wild-harvested (outside GOTS scope); brand certifications page would not load - unverified
Processing, their words: Chemical-free; hand-assembled California
Soaring Heart Natural KapokEdmonds WA
$1241.75 lbs · $70.86/lb
Untreated; no chemical fluffing or blending
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (organic kapok fill bags)
Policy not on PDPPolicy not on PDPPolicy not on PDP
Certification, their words: Cover cotton certified by USDA + TX Dept of Agriculture, not GOTS; GOTS scoped to the workshop and to wool only (license # not published); OEKO-TEX 100 (21.HUS.88394); kapok untreated wild-harvest
Processing, their words: Untreated; no chemical fluffing or blending
PlushBeds Shredded Latex+KapokCalifornia
$112
Shredded latex blended with kapok fluff
Licence number published
YesNo
Pillows non-returnable; 3-year warrantyNoFree contiguous US
Certification, their words: GOLS on latex; pillow named on cert page (CU865931); cover GOTS not explicit for this pillow (brand GOTS-Cotton CU1007386 scoped to mattresses); GREENGUARD and eco-INSTITUT do not attach to this pillow; kapok outside GOTS scope
Processing, their words: Shredded latex blended with kapok fluff
My Organic Sleep KapokHandmade USA
$139.97
Hand-filled; no chemical treatments disclosed
Claimed, no number published
Adjustability not explicitly stateYes ($29.99 refill SKU)
30 nightsYesNot stated on PDP
Certification, their words: Cover-only GOTS (certifier not named; license # not published); kapok fill claimed natural only (no cert); GOLS badge on PDP is sitewide boilerplate (this pillow contains no latex)
Processing, their words: Hand-filled; no chemical treatments disclosed
Naturepedic Cotton/Kapok PillowChagrin Falls OH
$99
Not disclosed; GOTS facility processing
Licence number published
No (sealed)No
30 nights30-day customer paysFree over $99
Certification, their words: GOTS finished product at Organic grade (license GOTS-10233; SC-018228-0; Oregon Tilth); scope cert lists 75% organic cotton + 25% organic kapok; license # only inside the certificate PDF; SKU discontinued
Processing, their words: Not disclosed; GOTS facility processing
Rawganique Kea Lani KapokUSA since 1997
$732 lbs (Soft) · $36.50/lb
Plastic-free; chemical-free; handmade
No third-party certification
Optional ($8 upcharge)Yes (1-lb fill bags)
14 nightsCustomer paysCalculated at checkout
Certification, their words: Casing organic cotton (no certifier named; no license # published; no GOTS claim); kapok wild-harvested (outside GOTS scope)
Processing, their words: Plastic-free; chemical-free; handmade
Sachi Organics Kapok PillowAlbuquerque NM
$92
Hand-tufted; kapok imported; minimal processing
No third-party certification
YesAvailable on request
30-day return on unusedCustomer paysCalculated at checkout
Certification, their words: Cover organic cotton fibers (no third-party cert; brand publishes no certifications page); kapok wild-harvested (outside GOTS scope)
Processing, their words: Hand-tufted; kapok imported; minimal processing
Sorting reorders the other pillows. Ours stays on the top row.
None of the other kapok pillows we bought meet that one.
Green means the brand's own published wording meets the test, amber means it is claimed but not evidenced, grey means it does not. Open any row to read the wording it was graded on. Certifications re-checked live on 31 July 2026. Prices and policies collected May 2026 from each brand's product page; certifications re-verified 31 July 2026. How we test and rank
20 buckwheat pillows, bought and slept on. Every cell below is that brand's own published wording.
Nights to decide60, slept on2 of the other 19 match it
RefillsAvailable to buy11 of the other 19 sell them. Refill yours
Circadian Buckwheat Pillow compared with other buckwheat pillows on verifiable certification, adjustability, refills, sleep trial and returns.
Pillow
Price
How it was made
What the certificate covers
Can you change it
Trial and returns
Circadian Buckwheat PillowNew Jersey, handmade since 1981
$149~8 lbs (7-9 adjustable) · $18.62/lb
Hulls air-jet polished and UV-sterilised. No chemical wash, no fumigation.
Cover certified, fill outside any standardOrganic cotton cover. Buckwheat hulls are an agricultural byproduct, outside the scope of any textile standard.
Organic cotton cover. Buckwheat hulls are an agricultural byproduct, outside the scope of any textile standard.
How it was made
Hulls air-jet polished and UV-sterilised. No chemical wash, no fumigation.
What we do not claim
We do not call the hulls organic, and we do not present the 68 percent as an industry figure. It is our own air-jet measurement against unpolished hulls.
Hullo BuckwheatDuluth MN
$129~9 lbs · $14.33/lb
Standard milled; minimal cleaning specified
No third-party certification
Yes (zippered)Yes ($30/2 lb refill)
60 nightsNo (customer pays)Yes (no minimum)
Certification, their words: Certified organic cotton cover only (certifier not named; license # not published); GOTS appears nowhere on the PDP
Processing, their words: Standard milled; minimal cleaning specified
Comfort Pure Cotton+BuckwheatUSA claim
$94
Standard milled
No third-party certification
YesLimited
100 nightsYes (free returns)No ($149 threshold)
Certification, their words: Certified Organic materials claim; no certifier named (no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Sweet Zzz BuckwheatDesigned USA; made imported
$979 lbs · $10.78/lb
Multi-step cleaning
Licence number published
YesNo (extra fill bag)
50 nightsYes (free shipping)Yes (pillow only)
Certification, their words: OEKO-TEX 100 cover (cert #20.HCN.13239). GOTS shown only as an unlabeled logo image; brand blog markets certified organic buckwheat hulls (not consistent with GOTS scope; see methodology)
Processing, their words: Multi-step cleaning
Sachi Organics BuckwheatAlbuquerque NM
$63~5.5 lbs · $11.45/lb
Standard milled
No third-party certification
YesYes
30 nightsNo (customer pays)Yes (free under $300)
Certification, their words: Regional organic cotton sourcing (TX co-op); no GOTS; OEKO-TEX not supported anywhere on the brand site (no third-party cert published)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
PineTales SignatureScottsdale AZ
$17912-13 lbs · $14.32/lb
Triple-cleaned whole hulls
No third-party certification
YesYes
30 nightsNoYes (no minimum)
Certification, their words: No casing organic or GOTS claim; hulls claimed 100% organic (no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Triple-cleaned whole hulls
Rawganique IllinoisIllinois
$938 lbs · $11.62/lb
Standard milled
No third-party certification
Yes (zippered)Yes
30 nightsNo (customer pays)No ($350 threshold)
Certification, their words: Organic cotton claim (no third-party cert); GOTS appears nowhere on the PDP
Processing, their words: Standard milled
ComfyComfy ComfySleepOntario CAN
$1108 lbs (+ 2 lbs extra bag) · $13.75/lb
Standard milled
Claimed, no number published
YesYes
30 nightsNo (cross-border)Yes (free $45+)
Certification, their words: Regional organic cert (TX Dept of Agriculture) on casing only; no GOTS; Ecocert claim relates to Canadian hulls, not the casing
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Bean Products WheatDreamzChicago IL
$854 lbs (2/3 full) · $21.25/lb
Standard milled
No third-party certification
YesYes
30 nightsNo (customer pays)No
Certification, their words: Organic cotton claim (no cert body named on PDP; no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Mother Earth Pillows LargeMarlborough NH
$537.25 lbs · $7.31/lb
Standard milled
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (covers)
30 nightsNo (customer pays)No ($75 threshold)
Certification, their words: None (no organic cert; no organic claim of any kind on the PDP)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
APOBUY TartaryAmazon brand
$26
Standard milled
No third-party certification
Yes (extra hulls)Yes
30 nightsAmazonYes (Amazon Prime)
Certification, their words: Unverified Amazon marketplace organic claim (no brand-owned site; no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
USlixury OrganicAmazon brand
$47
Standard milled
No third-party certification
Yes (extra hulls)Yes
30 nightsAmazonYes (Amazon Prime)
Certification, their words: Unverified Amazon marketplace organic claim (no brand-owned site; no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Bucky Organic Cotton Bed PillowUndisclosed
$72~4 lbs · $18.00/lb
Triple-cleaned
Claimed, no number published
Yes (extra fill)Yes
StandardStandardNo ($75 threshold)
Certification, their words: Organic cotton claim; certified asserted with no certifier or scheme named (GOTS not explicit; license # not published)
Processing, their words: Triple-cleaned
Earthsake Bucky SleepBerkeley CA assembly
$120~4 lbs · $30.00/lb
Standard milled
Claimed, no number published
Yes (extra cover)Yes
Standard returnsNo (customer pays)No ($500 threshold)
Certification, their words: Unverified; no cert claim retrievable (product page returns an empty body)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Turmerry BuckwheatClaim
$69Not published per-size
Standard milled
Claimed, no number published
YesYes (limited)
30 nightsNo (customer pays)Yes (no minimum)
Certification, their words: GOTS-certified casing fabric only (claimed on brand PDP); finished-product GOTS not claimed; license # not published
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Beans72 BuckwheatYes
$807-10 lbs (seasonal) · $9.41/lb
Triple-cleaned
Claimed, no number published
YesLimited
30 nightsAmazonYes (own site only)
Certification, their words: None (no organic cert); brand product pages unreachable - unverified from brand site
Processing, their words: Triple-cleaned
ZEN CHI OrganicAmazon brand
$40Not published per-size
Standard milled
No third-party certification
YesLimited
30 nightsAmazonYes (Amazon Prime)
Certification, their words: Brand site claims organic hulls only and no casing cert; Amazon OEKO-TEX cotton case claim unverified (no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Sleppyco BuckwheatUndisclosed
$77~8 lbs · $9.62/lb
Standard milled
Claimed, no number published
YesLimited
30 nightsAmazonNo
Certification, their words: GOTS-certified casing fabric claimed on the brand's own DTC PDP (casing level only; license # not published; no certifier ID); hulls carry no organic claim
Processing, their words: Standard milled
LOFE OrganicImported
$45
Standard milled
No third-party certification
YesLimited
30 nightsAmazonYes (Amazon Prime)
Certification, their words: Organic cotton claim (no certifier; no scheme; no license # on brand site or listings; no third-party cert)
Processing, their words: Standard milled
Soaring Heart BuckwheatSeattle WA
$14910 lbs · $14.90/lb
Hand-roasted (penalized per industry research on hull degradation)
Claimed, no number published
YesLimited (cover only)
Standard returnsNo (customer pays)No (paid UPS)
Certification, their words: Organic cotton claim; brand-level USDA NOP + TX Dept of Agriculture cotton; GOTS scoped to the workshop and to wool only; no product-level cert on PDP (license # not published)
Processing, their words: Hand-roasted (penalized per industry research on hull degradation)
Sorting reorders the other pillows. Ours stays on the top row.
None of the other buckwheat pillows we bought meet that one.
Green means the brand's own published wording meets the test, amber means it is claimed but not evidenced, grey means it does not. Open any row to read the wording it was graded on. Certifications re-checked live on 31 July 2026. Prices and policies collected May 2026 from each brand's product page; certifications re-verified 31 July 2026. How we test and rank
How the Circadian Buckwool Hybrid Pillow compares.
6 buckwool pillows, bought and slept on. Every cell below is that brand's own published wording.
Nights to decide60, slept on1 of the other 5 match it
RefillsAvailable to buy1 of the other 5 sell them. Refill yours
Circadian Buckwool Hybrid Pillow compared with other buckwool pillows on verifiable certification, adjustability, refills, sleep trial and returns.
Pillow
Price
How it was made
What the certificate covers
Can you change it
Trial and returns
Circadian Buckwool Hybrid PillowNew Jersey, handmade since 1981
$199~10 lbs total · $19.90/lb
Hulls air-jet polished and UV-sterilised. Wool scoured with biodegradable detergent, lanolin retained, left undyed.
Organic wool side, organic cotton coverOrganic wool on one side and an organic cotton cover. Buckwheat hulls are an agricultural byproduct, so no organic standard covers them.
Organic wool on one side and an organic cotton cover. Buckwheat hulls are an agricultural byproduct, so no organic standard covers them.
How it was made
Hulls air-jet polished and UV-sterilised. Wool scoured with biodegradable detergent, lanolin retained, left undyed.
What we do not claim
We do not claim GOTS on this pillow and we do not call it an organic pillow. The wool side and the cover are certified; the hulls are not, and a pillow is only as certified as its least certified part.
Certification, their words: GOTS-certified component only (cotton cover); wool described as natural NZ wool (GOTS not explicit); buckwheat outside GOTS scope; license # not published
30 nights30 days w/ restockingFree to most US locations
Certification, their words: Bare 100% certified organic materials claim; certified organic wool claimed; GOTS not explicit; no license #s
Processing, their words: Not disclosed
The Futon Shop Wool+BuckwheatHandmade San Francisco
$130
Virgin wool fiber; specifics not disclosed
Claimed, no number published
Yes (zippered chamber)Not specifically offered
Policy not on PDPRestocking applies via resellersNot free
Certification, their words: GOTS at supplier-input level only (supplier scope certs for cotton and wool, Goetz & Sons; cover fabric, Carr Textile); no GOTS license held by the brand; certified organic buckwheat claim unverified (outside GOTS scope)
Processing, their words: Virgin wool fiber; specifics not disclosed
Standard return policyPer Soaring HeartNot specified as free
Certification, their words: Organic cotton sateen cover (GOTS not explicit); World Class Wool / Eco-Wool batting not certified organic; no organic claim on the buckwheat; no license #s
Processing, their words: Not disclosed
Rawganique Outer Banks ReversibleHandmade USA since 1997
$164.957 lbs · $23.56/lb
Not disclosed
No third-party certification
Optional ($8 upcharge for zip)Not specifically offered
Non-returnableNo returnsNot stated on PDP
Certification, their words: Fiber-level certified organic only; brand states its own sewing workshop is not certified; GOTS not explicit; no license #s; PFAS-free is self-declared
Processing, their words: Not disclosed
Sorting reorders the other pillows. Ours stays on the top row.
None of the other buckwool pillows we bought meet that one.
Green means the brand's own published wording meets the test, amber means it is claimed but not evidenced, grey means it does not. Open any row to read the wording it was graded on. Certifications re-checked live on 31 July 2026. Prices and policies collected May 2026 from each brand's product page; certifications re-verified 31 July 2026. How we test and rank
A certification you cannot verify is a logo. Here are ours, with the numbers and the databases they sit in.
Whole pillow, end to end
GOTS Certified Organic
Audits the fiber farm, the scouring, the mill and the workshop. On the Organic Cotton and Organic Wool pillows and both duvets, the fill and the cover are certified, not just the cover.
License
GOTS-10229
Issuer
Oregon Tilth
Licence GOTS-10229, audited on site every year
Strictest tier, finished material
OEKO-TEX Standard 100, Class 1
An accredited lab tests the finished material against more than 100 harmful substances, including PFAS, formaldehyde, heavy metals and pesticide residue, at the threshold used for products made for direct contact with infants.
The Forest Stewardship Council audits the plantations the latex is tapped from against criteria for ecosystem protection, worker safety and land rights. OEKO-TEX tests the finished latex; FSC covers where it came from.
Applies to
The rubber-tree source of the Tree-Tapped Latex Pillow
Three of our pillows are not GOTS Certified Organic and we say so on the certifications page, along with the reason for each. Read what each certification covers
Still not sure which fill is yours?
The tables tell you what each pillow is. The quiz tells you which one fits how you sleep. Two minutes.